9 Keys to Business & Career Success | Inc.com

9 Keys to Business & Career Success | Inc.com.

Another list but some good stuff on career stuff in particular.

1. Time doesn’t fill me. I fill time.

“Tasks should only take as long as they need to take.”

2. The people around me are the people I chose.

“If the people around you make you unhappy it’s not their fault. It’s your fault”

3. You have never paid your dues.

“Dues get paid, each and every day. The only real measure of your value is the tangible contribution you make on a daily basis.”

4. Experience is irrelevant. Accomplishments are everything.

“Successful people…can just describe, hopefully in a humble way, what they’ve done.”

5. Failure is something I accomplish; it doesn’t just happen to me.

“Ask people why they have been successful. Their answers will be filled with personal pronouns: I, me, and the sometimes too occasional we.

Ask them why they failed. Most will revert to childhood and instinctively distance themselves, like the kid who says, “My toy got broken…” instead of, “I broke my toy.”

And by distancing themselves, they don’t learn from their failures.”

6. Volunteers always win.

“Whenever you raise your hand you wind up being asked to do more.  Successful people step forward to create opportunities.”

7. As long as I’m paid well, it’s all good.

8. People who pay me have the right to tell me what to do.

This is the only one that I would quibble with on this list – sure this is true to some extent but what is missing from the analysis here is the possibility of a shared responsibility to common goals and service to bosses and customers and peers etc.

9. The extra mile is a vast, unpopulated wasteland.

“Everyone says they go the extra mile. Almost no one actually does. Most people who go there think, “Wait… no one else is here… why am I doing this?” and leave, never to return…That’s also why the extra mile is a place filled with opportunities.”

 

Leave a Reply

