Positive Thinking: Avoid 5 Toxic Beliefs That Ruin Careers | Inc.com

(c)tobyleah

Positive Thinking: Avoid 5 Toxic Beliefs That Ruin Careers | Inc.com.

Another good list, especially for those hitting rough patches in their careers.

1. My self-worth is based on what others think of me.

2. My past equals my future.

There is now a very healthy set of literature on the subject of failure in careers supporting that setbacks are part of any career trajectory and not determinative of the possibility of future success.  The Harvard Business Review did a dedicated issue on this last year.   In his commencement address to Stanford students, Steve Jobs talks of being fired from his company and entering the best period of his life. By the same token, the “halo effect” of a job well done isn’t enough to sustain an entire career – past performance does not guarantee future performance.

3. My destiny is controlled by the supernatural.

Though I am not crazy about the way he characterizes this one, his basic point is, in my opinion, valid – we can be hampered by believing that our careers are determined by luck or fate.  A fascinating exploration of the theory that your mindset will determine how “lucky” you are is presented by Carol Dweck in her book called also called Mindset. A graphic summary of her theory of the growth mindset versus the fixed mindset can be found on this site (you’ll have to scroll down to find it).  To sum up with a oft cited quote, “The more I practice, the luckier I get.”

4. My emotions accurately reflect objective reality.

Again, I could quibble as I don’t know that there is such a thing as an objective reality but I agree that your own perspective, is just one.

5. My goal is to be perfect or do something perfectly. 

Agree on this one wholeheartedly. Since there is no such thing as perfection in most of our lives, I’d agree with him that we set ourselves up for failure when we try to attain perfection.

Leave a Reply

