Micro-meditation: Can you find Zen in 30 seconds or less? – The Globe and Mail

Photo (c) D. Sharon Pruitt

Micro-meditation: Can you find Zen in 30 seconds or less? – The Globe and Mail.

This post flows from a personal pledge to try take regular meditation off the “to do” list.

I’ve been directed to some great resources in response to my call out to friends including this article on micro-meditation.

They make it clear here that micro-meditations won’t necessarily offer the same range of benefits as full meditations, but they do suggest that clear benefits can flow from limited exposure to meditation practices.

I turned my mind to how to incorporate this into my own life.  I realized that as I hate to waste time waiting for meetings to start and tend to catch up on messages or even bring extra work in case I have a few minutes to spare, in fact, not all “found time” needs to have work crammed into it and perhaps I could the few minutes of waiting for a micro-meditation.

In addition, we’re also fortunate to have small “quiet rooms” on our floor which are used for a gamut of activities from prayer, to breastfeeding to personal calls.  This article is a good reminder however that these spaces can also be used for a couple of minutes of centering or reflection.

Leave a Reply

